FCPS Names Caroline Sanner its 2020 Teacher of the Year

FCPS Names Caroline Sanner its 2020 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 08/07/2019
Caroline Sanner and Dr. David SovineFor Immediate Release
August 7, 2019
Contact: Steve Edwards, Coordinator of Policy and Communications
540-662-3888 x88235

Middletown Elementary School Teacher Caroline Sanner was named Frederick Count Public Schools’ 2020 Teacher of the Year during the school division’s annual convocation program this morning. Sanner, who began her teaching career at Middletown Elementary School five years ago, teaches fourth grade language arts and math.

Schools Superintendent David Sovine says, “Ms. Sanner is a passionate educator who is driven by a desire to make a positive impact on each of her students and her colleagues every day. She understands the importance of developing positive relationships with her students in order to gain their trust and respect so that she can help them reach their full potential. She is committed to professional learning and sharing her knowledge with others through collaboration and mentoring. She is an inspiring educator who represents the type of high-quality teacher we work to attract and retain in order to best serve our students and their families.”

Sanner’s grandmother served as the President of the School Board in the community in which Sanner was raised in Pennsylvania. Sanner says, “When I started considering the factors that influenced me to become an educator, the first thought that immediately came to mind was my family. My grandmother stood up for what she believed needed to be the change in public education, and I admired that about her. I admired it so much that I knew I also wanted to be in a position where I could make a positive change in my community and the lives of others. I was once asked what I love the most about what I do as an educator, and though there are many things I love, my answer is the positive change that I’m making every day. This change is not only with students, but also my colleagues and the educational system in general.”

Sanner was one of three finalists for the Teacher of the Year Award. The other finalists were Bass-Hoover Elementary School First Grade Teacher Brooke Marker and Connie Van Sickler, the school counselor at Orchard View Elementary School.

The other nominees were: Monica Bittinger, Apple Pie Ridge Elementary School; Keith Lessard, Armel Elementary School; Rachael Blinn, Evendale Elementary School; Katie Sabol, Gainesboro Elementary School; Shannon Combs, Greenwood Mill Elementary School; Jared Neal, Indian Hollow Elementary School; Jen Burke, Redbud Run Elementary School; Amber Moore, Stonewall Elementary School; Bernie Monahan, Admiral Richard E. Byrd Middle School; Betsy Pangle, Frederick County Middle School; Linda Stasiak, James Wood Middle School; Sarah Sarppraicone, Robert E. Aylor Middle School; Amanda Feaster, James Wood High School; Mandee Madden, Millbrook High School; Doreen Pauley, Sherando High School; Steven Jackson, Dowell J. Howard Center; and Bo Wrenn, Jr., Northwestern Regional Educational Programs/Senseny Road School.

Frederick County Public Schools initiated the Teacher of the Year program in 1990. Each spring, every school site nominates one candidate for the Teacher of the Year Award. Each candidate is asked to complete an application which is reviewed by a committee of community leaders and educators. Three finalists are selected and interviewed to determine the Frederick County Teacher of the Year. The recipient of the award represents Frederick
County in the Virginia Teacher of the Year program.

The Teacher of the Year runners-up receive a plaque; a $1,000 spending account to be used for instructional materials, supplies or travel; and a $250 gift card.

The Teacher of the Year receives a plaque; a gold signet ring featuring the school division’s logo encircled by the words “Teacher of the Year”; a $3,000 spending account to be used for instructional materials, supplies or travel; $500 cash and a $250 gift card. In addition, the winner's name is placed on a permanent plaque in the board room at the Frederick County Public Schools Administration Building.

Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield sponsored this year’s Teacher of the Year Award. The ring given to the Teacher of the Year is provided by Gregg Miller, the local representative of the Herff Jones Company. The gift cards awarded to the Teacher of the Year and the two runnersup were donated by McGriff Insurance Services. The $500 cash award presented to the Teacher of the Year was donated by Lisa McKee, the president of Give Back with Cuts, a nonprofit organization that provides school supplies and haircuts to Frederick County Public Schools students in need.